The little math child in me couldn’t help but get excited about all the pie-related posts yesterday. So today, I decided to let my imagination roam free for a bit and see what I could come up with. First, I thought I’d make a savory pie – maybe something with chicken and spinach. But then I remembered the cinnamon custard that was left over from some macarons that I made the other day, so I decided to go sweet.

I ended up making this apple pithiviers. Pithiviers?!, you say? A pithiviers is basically two puff pastry disks with an almond filling. And because I don’t have anywhere to be on a Wednesday currently and because my secretly French heart was pleading for some butter, I decided to make my puff pastry from scratch.

Making puff pastry is one of the best things. (It can also be one of the most frustrating things if you’ve spent the entire day working on it and then once you go to bake, you wonder where all those beautiful layers went…) It’s the perfect activity for giving your mind a little break while you’re working on other things. So as I was translating and studying, every hour and a half or so, I would attend to my pastry, giving it another tour portefeuille or tour simple or preparing one of the fillings.

First, I piped the cinnamon custard into pithiviers. I then prepared a salted almond praliné (hooray, my new mini food processor is a true hero!) that I spread on the base of the pastry. Finally, I cooked down some apples with sugar, vanilla, and a bit of corn starch.

When I pushed the baking sheet into the oven, I couldn’t help but stare at the pastry, waiting for the layers to magically separate. Finally, they did. Although it took quite a bit longer than I anticipated. In fact, I left it in the oven for about an hour, and it could still use a bit of color, but my patience just reached it’s limit. Maybe I’ll raise the oven temperature next time.

