It’s been a while since I last posted about what I am up to and the things happening in my life, so here’s a little recap of recent things.

I’m still looking for a job / waiting for responses. I’ve applied for tech jobs, language-related jobs, and food jobs. It’s still a broad search, but I’m thinking that whatever I end up doing, it doesn’t have to be forever. That’s what’s keeping me sane(ish).

Last week, I actually had an interview/stage [staʒ] at a café. In France, a stage is a full internship, but here, a stage refers to a day / a few hours of working in a kitchen to assess your skills. The place I went to has a pastry kitchen in back that bakes throughout the day and delivers to the front of the house as well as to a few other branches. The night before the stage, I freaked out a little bit because I realized that I don’t have a kitchen uniform, so I didn’t know what to wear. Evidently that wasn’t a problem because when I got there, the head pastry chef was wearing sneakers, jeans, and a tie-dye t-shirt. It was great being back in a professional kitchen and I really enjoyed the relaxed work atmosphere. I think that the pastry chef mainly wanted to test my general intelligence, given that she didn’t make me create any intricate desserts or ask me any theoretical or technical questions. Instead, she handed me two recipes, showed me where everything was located, and said “go.” There was nothing difficult about the recipes she had chosen – vegan mini blueberry cakes and peanut butter cookies. Nonetheless, it was exciting to be fully responsible for a product. I definitely passed the “general intelligence” exam and ended up creating around 80 cakes and countless cookies. I think I’d appreciate the challenge of some more complicated tasks, but on the other hand, the simplicity allowed me to focus and not get stressed.

I spent the past few days in New York City with my boyfriend and my grandparents. Four nights = four delicious dinners. But I’m not going to go through all of those right now. While walking through Brooklyn, we discovered Martha’s Country Bakery (www.marthascountrybakery.com). We sat down and had an afternoon coffee/snack – chai latte and marble cheesecake. The outside storefront gives you the impression of a small pastry shop, but once you open the door, you enter another world. The counter is seemingly endless (my guess would be 20 meters) and filled with cakes, cupcakes, croissants, éclairs, cheesecakes, mousse cakes, pies. I’m not joking that there must have been at least 80 different pastry options. I’m not sure how they manage to keep everything available AND fresh… A day later, while walking through Brooklyn again, I discovered that there’s more than one shop and that the one I had been to wasn’t even the biggest! Martha’s made me dream of one day opening my own place. But I’m not sure if a huge selection like this is where I want to go.

Anywho, another exciting bit of news is that I got a fitbit! And as I’ve been writing this, I missed my hourly 250-step goal. :/
So far, it’s been a great motivation to take the stairs instead of the escalator and I’ve been on my feet more that usual. Since I’m waiting to join a gym until I find a job, it’s definitely a good baseline to keep me in shape. It’s also super fun!

Today’s recipe is yummy and healthy and makes a great packed lunch or dinner while you’re in the library waiting for a choir rehearsal.

it-has-avocado-so-it-must-be-good

